National Fire Prevention Week

Debbie Snapp
ECB Publishing, Inc.

National Fire Prevention Week is observed annually in the United States and Canada, during the week (from Sunday to Saturday) in which October 9 falls.
In the United States, the first Presidential Proclamation of Fire Prevention Week was made in 1925, by President Calvin Coolidge.
In Jefferson County, there are several fire departments, and each facility offers personal service to the residents and business owners of our community.
Firefighters and other first-response volunteers help in bringing fire safety tips such as install smoke alarms on every level of your home, including inside bedrooms and outside sleeping areas. Firefighters also encourage families to test their smoke alarms every month and talk with all family members about a fire escape plan and practice the plan twice a year.
If a fire occurs in your home, get out, stay out and call for help - never run back into a burning building.
The Jefferson County Fire Rescue (JCFR) is a paid entity and operates with three shifts, which alternate every 48 hours. The department is on-duty 24-7 for the protection of the community.
The Monticello Volunteer Fire Department (MVFD) is overseen by its Chief, Lester Lawrence. Monthly meetings for the volunteer department, as well as training exercises, are held on the second and fourth Thursday at 6:30 p.m.
Volunteers with the MVFD include Chief Lester Lawrence, Mike Long, Mike Sacco, Dan Pruitt, Austin Malloy, Safety Officer Edward Fessenden, Chris Spinnenweber, Safety Officer Denise Tosado, James Hopkins, Valentin Vargas, Jonathan Howard, Jo Michael Lanclos, Trainee Marta Vargas, Trainee John Wilkerson and Trainee Eric Guenther. Support volunteers are Fay Pritchard and David Frisby. The department's mascot is the massive Great Pyrenees, Thor.
The Wacissa Volunteer Fire Department (WVFD) Chief is Richard Peters. His volunteers meet and train on the first Tuesday of each month at 6:30 p.m.
Lloyd Volunteer Fire Department (LVFD) Chief is John Cooksey. His volunteers meet on the first Thursday of each month at 7 p.m.
Ashville Area Volunteer Fire Department (AAVFD) Chief is Denise Tosado. Volunteers meet and train on the second and third Thursday of each month at 6:30 p.m.